When Pincushions Made Presents

The eagle-eyed amongst you may have noticed a lack of blogging about knitting recently.  There was a good reason for this, it was super sekrit knitting, which I feel always the best kind.

The first project was a Lizard, for well, let us just call her Lizard.  After all I do.  To be honest the most surprising thing about this project was how long it took me to get around to knitting her a Lizard.  Also it is by far the rudest thing I have ever knitted.

      

Then I moved on a Guinea Pig  (NOT a Hamster, Gerbil or other small furry rodent I thank you ;) )  as clearly this is what you must knit your Guinea Pig keeping friend.  Not just any old kind of Guinea Pig though, but a thoroughly piratey one.  I am very fond of this piggy as he is made up of at least Three Different Patterns,  an ounce of luck and a few deep breaths.  Yet all along I knew he would turn out just fine, because nice surprises don’t go wrong (well not that kind of wrong).

   

Finally we have this Lovely Ladybird which I knitted for my mother in one evening.  This was the fastest I have ever knitted anything and I was oddly unphased by it.  I’d thought of the idea a week or so before and chose a ladybird because way back in Year 7 I made a pencil case with a ladybird potato stamped design.  I gave it to my mother and she still uses it to this day.  I may not have made many things at School but most of them are still functional!

          

About Bertie

Aspiring Spinster Detective who likes nothing better than to watch some cricket. My world goes by with a little help from gin, vino, tea and cake.
This entry was posted in Making and Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When Pincushions Made Presents

  1. aitchemelle says:

    I feel very honoured :) Thank you once again for my piglet!! He is very content on my bookshelf!! :)

    • Bertie says:

      Yes, how very dare the world to not have knitted more teeny tiny piglets for me to find a pattern. At least you can safely say he is unique. xx

  2. Nellie says:

    I like that you have a tag called ‘teeny tiny things’, I find it pleasing.

  3. Liz says:

    The knitted lizard is a very fine lizard indeed. And is purple :)

  4. Pirate guinea pig.
    Guinea pig pirate.

    …I may have ever-so-accidentally squeed aloud when I saw those photos.

Leave a Reply

