Dorchester Abbey Tea Rooms

The weather has been so disgusting today, that really the only thing to do was to go and have Afternoon Tea. (Though as I have typed this up the sun has come out and I can spy blue sky!)

Luckily for me just down the road I have the super Dorchester Abbey Tea Rooms.  Truly a traditional British an experience.  It has been running for a number of years, with villagers baking delicious cakes and all the money going to charity.   Next door is also a small museum about the village, so you even get some culture thrown in.

 

 

It can get quite busy in the summer months, and there is seating outside to accommodate this.  However, to best experience the atmosphere you must sit inside.  Here the emphasis is most definitely communal.

Inside there are only two tables (One is round, one is rectangular, I am unsure if this is significant)  and you always get talking to everyone as cake is passed round and round.  Whichever table you choose, you can guarantee the cake on the other table will look even more tempting!   I do try to go at least once a year on my own and then again with company (as this way you get to sample even more cake!)

Tea is also priced on a sliding scale.  50p for the first cup, 40p for the second, 30p for the third and free after that!  Totting the bill up afterwards is always fun, especially as they provide mini blackboards and chalk for you do so!  Today I opted for the delicious blackcurrant strudel cake and a scone.

Then once you have finished your feasting, Dorchester itself is beautiful to explore.  All chocolate box cottages, and winding footpaths and of course the Abbey church.  There are also some lovely meadows to explore, as well as two rivers; for it is where the Thame meets the Thames.

   

My favourite walks takes me south down to where the rivers meet.  Then west along by the river under the shadow of the Wittenham Clumps, until you reach Day’s Lock for a spot of canal boat contemplation.  Day’s Lock is also the home of the World Pooh Sticks Championships I kid you not.  Then back along the footpath running alongside Dyke Hills – the remains of an iron age hill fort – to the village.

(ps the outdoors pictures were from a much nicer day!)

About Bertie

Aspiring Spinster Detective who likes nothing better than to watch some cricket. My world goes by with a little help from gin, vino, tea and cake.
This entry was posted in Life, but not as we know it and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dorchester Abbey Tea Rooms

  1. Wow, that’s so cheap and it looks great!

  2. Liz says:

    Please may I be company sometime!

  3. Nellie says:

    Squeeze me, I wish to revisit ASAP.

  4. Pingback: Do Something New A Month ~ May | Make and Bake with Bert

Leave a comment