Bert and the Ashes

Sometimes a bit of a gamble does pay off.  8 years ago despite valiant attempts father and I were unlucky with our attempts procure Ashes tickets.  4 years ago because of a family wedding we could only go for tickets on the fifth day and the match finished on the fourth (during said wedding!).  I’m sure this jinx spreads back to 1997 and the tickets we had for the fourth day when England went and won the match on the third day (Philip Tufnell I still have never forgiven you for this.)  We were lucky in 2001, though I now can only recall saying farewell to Steve Waugh!

SavedPicture-2013829191156.jpg

Sometime this year our luck changed.  A month ago I achieved one of the pinnacles of cricket watching.  A Saturday at Lord’s watching an Ashes test.  This Sunday I achieved another.  Being at The Oval to watch England lift the Ashes.

DSCN2092

Given the rain of the day before I went expecting a damp fizzling out of a draw.  However, the sun came out and the game started to unfold at speed.  England scored more positively then came out and took quick Australian wickets as they too looked to bat with the aim of winning.  A generous declaration meant England needed to get 227 in 44 overs and suddenly the game and the crowd came alive.

DSCN2081

In the end they didn’t quite make it as the light faded fast, but the atmosphere was brilliant and I learnt more Barmy Army songs in one afternoon than I knew existed.

DSCN2087

Finally the rents saw the England Women retain the Ashes today, hurrah!

About Bertie

Aspiring Spinster Detective who likes nothing better than to watch some cricket. My world goes by with a little help from gin, vino, tea and cake.
This entry was posted in Watching the sport away and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bert and the Ashes

  1. Pingback: Do Something New A Month ~ August | Make and Bake with Bert

Leave a comment